An Unsettled Place

A Reflection of Remembering, Resetting & Reforming

K.J. Daniels

--

Photo by Ben Wicks on Unsplash

After a nearly year-long hiatus, I am pleased to finally write again here on Medium!!!

I must admit that the topic of the writing is heavily personal, yet very daunting. The word I would like to employ description about to summarize the last few months is “unsettling”. Several weeks ago, I met virtually with my Pastor for a brief check-in. This check-in meeting turned out to be a re-focusing moment that placed many things in perspective. She gave me clarity, reflection and vigor to re-discover and re-prioritized my life in every respect — balance, goals, and re-settling.

Not to mention, losing my mother almost two years ago shifted my entire normal. If you follow my writings, you will recall a piece that I wrote in 2020, I outlined the stages of grief titled Uncovering Prophetic Grief. Distinctively speaking, referring to grief is one thing, but it is an altogether different reality when an individual or family undergoes it existentially. As a reorientation to my new self, I am sharing my journey of unsettling between remembering, resetting, and reforming.

Remembering the Priorities

The illustration positioned above is a visual representation of what “unsettling” looked like for me during the past few months…

--

--

K.J. Daniels

Certified Empowerment & Success Coach | Emerging Author | Minister | Servant Leader & Justice Warrior #BlackLivesMatter https://bit.ly/3YL7slL